Clothespins

I have recently become very interested in photography, partly because I now have a Canon Rebel T3i, so I can actually take quality shots. I’ve recently entered a photography contest and I figured I would share some of the shots with you! The first one, my favorite of them all, is Clothespins.

clothespins on a line

As I mentioned, I have a Canon EOS Rebel T3i. The lens was a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II, a kit lens. The aperture was F/5.6 with an exposure of 1/400, a focal length of 55mm, and an ISO of 100.

The second shot I entered was a bit of a coincidence really. I was snapping shots of Dandelions (can’t get much more ordinary than that) when along came a small bumble-bee. I watched him for a bit and then he landed on one of the dandelions. I quick swapped to my macro lens (had been using the telephoto one) and nabbed a few shots of him on various dandelions, before ticking him off with the sound of my rapid-fire lens and having to move away.

The bee is a little out of focus here, but I feel that really draws attention to the fine detail on the dandelion, the little curly-qs and petals. You can also see the pollen sacs on the bee’s legs, a neat little addition I didn’t notice until after I took the shot.

Dandelion with a Friend

Dandelion with a Friend – Canon EOS Rebel T3i

And here’s a shot of a dandelion I got prior to the above photo coming into being:

dandelion

Dandelion

 

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Clothespins

  1. Bill Chance says:

    Nice work – love the depth of field on the clothspins – that’s so hard to get right.

    Good luck in the contest, thanks for sharing.

    • Nate says:

      Thanks! You should’ve seen all of the duplicates I threw out. Boy, it can take ages to get the right shot. Always glad to get feedback!

Tell us what you thought!

