Journal for the creation of the Prodigialis Robot – Day 7

Status Update

I’ve been working on the robot and finally decided that I’m just going to do a full re-write of the code. The code I had was getting bulky and hard to follow, as I was writing the code while learning. So, I’m just re-writing and going to go from there.

I haven’t written anything for quite a while, simply because I haven’t had anything interesting to write about! It has been the same issue cropping up again and again, no matter what I do. Thus the rewrite.

I was having an issue with the servos sagging, as the tape wasn’t holding on well enough, and so I am switching from the cardboard body I had to a lego-based case, which is what I had planned all along. Currently the project is on hold for lack of adhesive to stick the servos to the body, but that shall soon be remedied and the development of the Prodigialis robot can continue. I have changed the name from the acronym AWARE to the Latin word Prodigialis, which means Fantastic or Amazing. I thought it sounded cooler.

In regards to the extra servos, I’m not going to do that, as the servos I have now serve my purpose and it would cost about $40 for all of the parts I would need, which I don’t have available for the project right now. I’m actually considering purchasing two more ultrasonic sensor and placing them on each side of the robot instead of having to mess with stopping the robot and turning it to each side to compare distances. That’s actually where my issue is, is getting the robot to stop and turn correctly.

Tagged , ,

Tell us what you thought!

